Dorchester Town Council

Annual Meeting of Dorchester Town Council

19 May 2014

Present: Mayor S. Jones and Councillors V. Allan, K. Armitage, D. Barrett, C. Biggs, R.

Biggs, T. Harries, S. Hosford, T. James, G. Jones, T. Jones, F. Kent-Ledger, A.

Lyall, P. Mann, R. Potter, M. Rennie, D. Roberts and D. Taylor.

In Attendance:

Civic Dignitaries from across Dorset, family and friends of the Mayor Elect, and

members of the community of Dorchester.

Apologies: Councillors A. Canning and T. Loakes.

1. Election of Town Mayor for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council

It was proposed by Councillor T. James, seconded by Councillor D. Roberts and

Resolved

That Councillor Peter Mann be elected Town Mayor of Dorchester for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council.

Councillor Mann, having accepted the Office of Town Mayor and made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and thanked the Council on behalf of himself and the Mayoress, Mrs Sheila Mann, for the honour conferred upon them.

2. Election of Deputy Mayor for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council

It was proposed by Councillor F. Kent-Ledger, seconded by Councillor G. Jones and

Resolved

That Councillor S. Jones be elected Deputy Town Mayor of Dorchester for the period to the next Annual Meeting of the Council.

3. Vote of thanks to the retiring Town Mayor

It was proposed by Councillor S. Hosford, seconded by Councillor V. Allan and

Resolved

That the thanks of the Council be given to Councillor Stella

Jones for the energetic, efficient, dignified and courteous manner in which she has carried out the duties of Town Mayor during the past year.

Councillor S. Jones was presented with a Past Mayor's Badge by the Mayor, and Councillor T. Jones was presented with a Past Mayor's Consort Badge.

Councillor S. Jones addressed the meeting.

4. Adjournment of Meeting

The Council gave consideration to adjourning the meeting.

Resolved

That the Meeting stand adjourned until 7.00pm on Tuesday 20 May 2014.

The Council rose at 8.05 pm.

Mayor